Home > Uncategorized > Congratulations to Our Pitch for the Library Winners.

Congratulations to Our Pitch for the Library Winners.

A deafening round of applause, much like the one they’ll recieve when they walk-out at Busch Stadium, goes out to our Summer Reading Club’s Pitch for the Library contest winners.

On Wednesday, September 19th, these two lucky winners will represent St. Louis Public Library on the Cardinal’s field, with one of them throwing the first pitch.

Ezekial J,age 12, a Barr patron who attends Lift for Life Acedamy will throw out the first pitch.

Lanisha S, age 11, who attends Duchesne Elementary but visits Cabanne branch when in the city, will also be on the field.

They had to tell us why they should be chosen to throw out the first pitch, and here are their winning entries respectively:

“I am the library’s best pitcher because I just might be the library’s top reader.  I love going to the library.  I am also a big fan of baseball.  I’m a big fan of of Cardinals especially.  I love playing baseball also.  I love pitching but I also love batting.  Baseballl is one of the two sports I’m good at.  Baseball and soccer, unless singing counts as a sport.  I don’t know the national anthem, but I do know other songs.  Even if I don’t get to throw the first pitch, thanks for the ooportunity to try.”

“I am the library’s best pitcher because I read until I fall asleep, without books, I don’t know what I’ll do.  Also, because I’m so supportive.  Once, I helped these bad kids in school become better with an advice book.  It was so cool!  I’m also funny.  I’m not like joke funny, I mean like crazy funny.  I’m also a great actress.  I always get infront of my mirror.  Since I’m going to the Junior Olympics in Houston, Texas for track and field, I’m going to try to read 10 books.  That’s amazing!  I’m very athletic.  I’ve never been to a baseball game before, and if I win, I’ll be very happy.  I’ll also tell my friends ‘In your face.’  They’ll be jealous.  I’m crossing my fingers and toes that I win.  Thank you!”

We hope you enjoy the atmosphere below on your big day!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

