Home > Uncategorized > Teen Volunteer Book Reviews

Teen Volunteer Book Reviews

The Death Catchers by Jennifer Anne Kogler

This book was a lot better than I had expected. The book was merely “okay” or “kinda interesting” at first. Then, when Drake’s part got bigger my eyes became glued to the page. I gotta admit, for me romance + a great plot = an awesome, very entertaining book. That is, if the writing is good, too. And don’t worry, it was.

There were a few things I liked about this book that are also fairly unique. First of all, I enjoyed all the “pearls of wisdom.” In fact, most of Bizzy’s made me crack up. While I’m on this subject, can I say how much I love Bizzy? For a grandmother, she’s pretty cool. Heck, who am I kidding. She’s cool, no matter what her age is. Anyway, another thing I enjoyed was the whole “letter/story to teacher” premise of the book. It put some things in a different light and livened things up a little. Going along with the previous, I also liked how Lizzy took her teacher’s useful English lessons and put twists on them.

Wow. Now that I think about it, this entire book was practically screaming “Read books! There’s a right one for you somewhere! Reading a book could even save someone’s life or even the entire world!” It really is good message, even if it could be taken as somewhat of an exaggeration. However, if you truly understand the power of reading, you’ll realize it isn’t that much of a hyperbole.

Okay, I have only one last thing to say. I WANT A SEQUEL!  I hope the author writes one. If not, well, I guess I’ll have to read her other books, instead. Oh, and almost forgot to mention that I loved the whole King Arthur theme in the book. His whole legend really rocks.

 

Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

My first thought after I finished the book: the title really fit. It really did. It’s not just some random phrase found in the book, but it’s a good description of what happens without giving anything good away.

Eli was… well, he sounded like a great guy. And a little hot, but that’s not the point. As for everyone else, well, they all had problems. I’m not saying Eli didn’t but… Hmm, maybe I should just stop rambling, now.

Anyway, Auden reminded me a bit of myself. However, I can gladly say I’m definitely not that pathetic. I do not study ahead all the time and I’m a queen of procrastination. Oh yeah, and I don’t have a job being an accountant or otherwise. However, I felt I could relate to her in more ways than one.

So, this was a good book. Actually, I’d say it was pretty awesome. It was all about everyday life but it made it seem like something special. Something magical. I guess one just needs to remember every now and then how good life can be, even when it seems to suck.

 

Virals by Kathy Reichs

With tons of action and sci fi along with a dash of reality this made up a pretty cool book. Now, I’m not really a dog person, but in this novel I couldn’t help but love Coop and the rest of the wolf-dog family. Wolves are amazing creatures and really should be admired along with their close dog cousins.

I loved that so much forensics were included in the book. I think it’s so cool that like Sherlock Holmes we piece together an entire crime or figure out a puzzle from small seemingly insignificant pieces of evidence. It’s really amazing how that’s possible, and even more amazing how much stuff Tory knew. Although the people at her school didn’t think much of her I think she’s pretty cool. I mean, she has to be considering she’s the main character, but all the same.

This really was a great novel. Kathy Reichs is a great author. I hope she writes more young adult books, sometime. However, in the meantime I think I might check out an episode or two of Bones. Hopefully it’ll be as good as this book.

Recommendations by Valerie G. @ Machacek

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

