Home > Uncategorized > If you like historical fiction…

If you like historical fiction…

Night by Elie Wiesel

This is a story set during the Holocaust and explains a young Jewish boy’s harsh memories.  The author, who is a survivor of the Holocaust, describes his sad, yet true stories.  Throughout reading the book, I started realizing how important the value of life was.  It taught me the difference between good and evil.  I would recommend this book to everyone over 10, but I do want to say that I put the book down a few times.  It got really intense during a few parts.  Overall, it was a very great book.  ~ Emily R.

Schindler’s List

Based on the book Schnidler’s List by Thomas Keneally this movie is set during the Holocaust.  A German man helps the Jewish people more than he thinks.  This German man, Oscar Schindler, starts a project to make money for himself, but instead he saves many Jewish lives.  I would recommend this to young adults and above because of language and violence, etc.  This true story is filled with action, history, romance, and more.  I really learned a lot about what people are capable of doing.  However, sometimes they don’t use their strengths to do good things.  Overall, the movie was really great and it taught me a lot. ~ Emily R.

Other Great Read-a-Likes:

Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Maus I: A Survivor’s Tale: My Father Bleeds History by Art Spiegelman

Maus II: A Survivors Tale: And Here My Trouble Began by Art Spiegelman

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

