Home > Uncategorized > Poetry Slam

Poetry Slam

Poem performed at Carpenter Branch Library on Monday, June 6, 2011.

“Speed!”
A fast life
Consisting of the lies, sex, money, and secrets
A recipe for a half life
Gone from the world
Before a mature voice is even heard
It’s disturbing
For me, of only about 16
To identify bodies that haven’t even made it to 30
Yet are lying in the street
Covered in blood and dirty
Only because they ran too fast
And couldn’t get their bodies to slow down
Now and forever underground
Not just in this loathsome town
I’m talking all around
You want to hear crazy?
How about 2 people dead,
Both well under AARP and one of them had a baby
Well maybe it’s that fast life
And when it bites
When she bites
She stings
Enduring a burn that scorches
A heat hotter than thousands of lit torches
Babies having babies
Fathered by dead beat monkeys on porches
No child support money
Being spent on Bentleys and Porsches
Engine revved up
Ready to go for the Indy 500
While their little ones take backseat
Crying “daddy I’m hungry”
But we
Regard them as stats
Instead of pure facts
And act, opposed to it of there lack
For now we’re back to line start
Figuring how to prevent the rush
Before baby and umbilical even part
And there is no quick solution
No sugar in the tank
Just think of investing something
Other than your bank
If you have to pay to cross the bridge between death and success
Then we are the toll booth
Because there shouldn’t be an end to reparation
Until our children are bullet proof
Prove it to me
That you can slow the speed
I am in love with my family
I’m sure they could wonder
What is that in her first verse?
Probably because in 04 they took
A piece of my heart away in a hearse
And it still hurts to this day
Though I have managed to disperse the pain
and agony, yes that was my beloved granny

by Naomi C.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Naomi Collier
    June 11, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    Hey this is my poem. Just wanted to let you know that there are a few corrections that need to be made. If you would like, I could e-mail the poem as it was intended and you could re-post it when you get a chance.
    Thanks!
    -Naomi Collier

    • slplyal
      June 14, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      Hi Naomi,

      Please email the corrected poem. You can send it to me at readitforward@slpl.org.

      Thanks so much!
      Carrie

    • slplyal
      June 14, 2011 at 1:23 pm

      Hi Naomi,

      I’m still getting used to using this blog. I don’t know if you got that reply email I just sent. Please email your corrected poem to readitforward@slpl.org.

      Thanks so much!
      Carrie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

